Indiana Jones premiere and tribute to Harrison Ford at the Cannes Film Festival



Harrison Ford, who has already played Indiana Jones in the first four parts of the saga, will portray the character again in Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny. Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny/Disney trailer screenshot

Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny, directed by James Mangold, is to be screened on May 18 on the Croisette.

Fifteen years since Harrison Ford had put on his adventurer costume. For the 76e Cannes festival, the actor will be back on the Croisette to present the fifth part of the Indiana Jones saga. Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny will premiere on May 18, before hitting theaters on June 28. The festival will also make a “exceptional tribute” to acting for his entire career.

Unlike the other parts of the adventurer’s saga, this fifth film is not directed by Steven Spielberg. The director, at the beginning announced for the realization, wished to hand over. Finally, it is James Mangold, director of Le Mans 66 , who has been appointed to produce this new opus. The director of The Fabelmans nevertheless remains producer of the film with George Lucas.

Second film announced at Cannes

Like Tom Cruise last year with his Top Gun: Maverick , Harrison Ford, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Antonio Banderas and Mads Mikkelsen will climb the steps of the Cannes Film Festival to present this new film. James Mangold first visited Cannes in 1995 to present Heavy at the Directors’ Fortnight. Actor Harrison Ford made a name for himself thanks to his various roles in the saga Star Wars IV, Star Wars V, Star Wars VI and in blade runner by Ridley Scott and blade runner 2049 by Denis Villeneuve.

Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny is the second film whose screening has been officially confirmed by the Cannes Film Festival. The presence of the first Killers of the Flower Moon by Martin Scorsere with Leonardo DiCaprio and Robert de Niro, was announced on March 31. For this 76e edition of the Cannes Film Festival, the jury will be chaired by the winner of the Palme d’Or last year, the Swedish Ruben Östlund. The rest of the selection will be announced during the month of April.


Rate this person.

Click on a star to rate them!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top